ANC announces its Premiers


The African National Congress convened a Special National Executive committee meeting (NEC) on Monday, the 13th of May 2019 at Irene in Tshwane to discuss the nomination of its Premier candidates.

In arriving at its decision, the NEC was guided by the following principles and approaches: gender parity; unity and stability in ANC structures; youth and inter-generational mix and experience.

The NEC received three names per province as recommended by the Provincial Executive Committees in line with national conference resolution of 2007, Polokwane.

The NEC agreed on the following Premier Candidates:

·         Eastern Cape – Oscar Mabuyane
·         Free State – Sisi Ntombela
·         Gauteng – David Makhura
·         KwaZulu Natal – Sihle Zikalala
·         Limpopo – Stan Mathabathe
·         Mpumalanga – Refilwe Mtsweni
·         Northern Cape  – Zamani Saul

Pertaining to the North West, the Premier Candidate will be announced in due course following internal engagements.

The NEC further agreed that in provinces where Premiers are men, then at least 60% of the Provincial Executive Council must be constituted by women. There was consensus that in instances where the Premier is a woman there shall be at least 50/50 representation in the Provincial Executive Councils. In all provincial legislatures, speakers shall be women irrespective of whether the Premier is male or female.  The NEC further took a decision that young people must be accommodated in the composition of all Executive Councils, legislative and governance structures.

The NEC expressed gratitude and appreciation to all its structures, volunteers, the elections team, alliance partners and supporters who gave their time, efforts and worked tirelessly during the election campaign.