Messaging apps like WhatsApp have revolutionised the way we communicate with friends, family, and even business contacts, clients, and colleagues. The downfall though is that once a message is sent, it’s sent. No cancelling. No retrieving. No escaping potential embarrassment or a bruised reputation if you accidentally sent a private message to a group of colleagues. Until now.
We all felt Margaret van Wyk’s pain when she accidentally posted a very intimate photo meant for her husband on her children’s school hockey group. Whatsapp is slowly rolling out a new feature that allows users to revoke or delete a message within seven minutes after it has been sent so that the receiver won’t be able to read it – if both parties have the latest version of the app.
How it works:
Users with the latest version of Whatsapp will see a new option after sending a message that will allow them to “delete for everyone” instead of just from the sender’s own device.
- Tap and hold the message
- Choose ‘delete’ from the menu options
- Tap ‘delete’ or the trash can icon
- Choose ‘delete for everyone’.
WA has also come up with an ingenious plan when a drunk driver is texting.
Article and information: Biz Community